Continue to main site

Press Releases

download all (PDF)

  • volume three in top 10 of 2007 view
  • volume three released view
  • Emil Schult exhibit view
  • volume two released view
  • volume one released view
  • about the Still Life series view


download all (PDF)

  • volume three - Wind and Wire view
  • series - view
  • volume three - ping things view
  • volume three - Chuck van Zyl view
  • volume three - e/i Magazine view
  • volume two - Stars End view
  • volume two - e/i Magazine view
  • volume two - ping things view
  • Jim Brenholtz view
  • Bert Strolenberg view
  • Tom Sekowski view
  • Hypnagogue view
  • Gordon Danis view
  • The Ambient Navigator view
  • view
  • volume three - view
  • volume two - view

Artist Quotes

download all (PDF)

High Resolution Images

Press Contact

  • Inquiries can be sent to:

Nelson Foltz and Tom Lynn have created “a series of recordings (in) response to the extreme pace of modern life.” Their goal in creating Still Life was to remove the demands of ego, thus allowing the music to develop without an agenda. Indeed, the lack of an agenda gives this recording integrity, life and vision – each stronger than any agenda could provide.

This CD is definitely a labor of love. While Tom and Nelson used some traditional instruments – Tibetan bowls, trombone, douduk, bass clarinet, kalimba and udu – they also used poster tubes, wine glasses, a bath tub half full of water, a clock, a dripping faucet and several “household objects” in their sound design. They used no electronic instruments but they have processed the sounds and samples quite extensively.

This CD is one long-form (52”) composition that has its own definitive pattern. (It has no agenda.) Tom and Nelson allow the piece to morph along its own path as it builds from sparse minimalism to rhythmic ambience and back to sparse minimalism. Deep listeners will be able to follow the music as it wields its subtle overtones gently and lovingly. Nelson and Tom care about their listeners. They have not invested their egos in the music. They have invested their emotions, spirits and hearts. This is a labor of love.

This soundscape does take time and effort to appreciate, absorb and experience to its fullest extent. It is worth that and much more.

Jim Brenholtz